

Media release | Monday 18 November 2024

Medicines Management 2024 aglow in glory as conference closes

Member-voted winners, next gen leaders and conference standouts all honoured as sun sets on Medicines Management 2024.

Advanced Pharmacy Australia (AdPha) is today celebrating one of its most successful conferences yet after the announcement of its Members' Awards, conference awards, winners of the AdPha Resident of the Year, inaugural AdPha Registrar of the Year, and a spectacular Gala Dinner.

AdPha President Tom Simpson FANZCAP (Lead&Mgmt) says the atmosphere of inspiration and connection has been electric.

'There is a reason this is Australia's largest scientific pharmacy conference, and it is thanks to our members, delegates, supporters and everyone else who plays a role.

'At its core, Medicines Management provides a platform for pharmacists and technicians from all areas of practice to learn about the latest developments in pharmacy and broader health care.

'But the reality is more intangible: it is the buzz in the air, the relief of finding peers who face similar problems, and the spark of an idea that leads to cross-country partnerships and friendships.'

Amid the celebration of outstanding achievement from emerging pharmacists, technicians and hospital teams, AdPha President Tom Simpson reflected on the seven inaugural Distinguished Fellowships, bestowed at the start of the blockbuster event.

'The remarkable progress we have made this year, culminating in a triumphant conference upon our return to Adelaide, is possible because of the strong vision of our recent leaders.

'On behalf of a grateful membership I warmly congratulate our 2024 Distinguished

Fellows: Ron Batagol DFAdPha, Mel Davis DFAdPha, Professor Michael Dooley DFAdPha, Helen Dowling DFAdPha, Vaughn Eaton DFAdPha, Peter Fowler DFAdPha and Neil Keen DFAdPha.'

The inaugural **2024 AdPha Registrar of the Year** is **Sarah Risdale**, a senior Infectious Diseases pharmacist at Royal Brisbane and Women's Hospital who played a key role in the hospital's COVID-19 pandemic response and was an active contributor in education at local, state and national levels while completing the program.

The **2024 AdPha Resident of the Year** is **Alex Lotric**, AdPha Resident Training Program candidate at Alfred Health in Victoria, for her research presentation: 'Pharmacist in vascular outpatient clinic improves guideline adherent medication prescribing in patients with vascular disease'.

The **2024 AdPha Members' Award** winners are:

- The 2024 AdPha Early Career Pharmacist of the Year is Hana Amer (SA/NT), a PhD
 Candidate and Pharmacist at the University of SA and SA Pharmacy honoured for
 her significant contributions to advancing pharmacy practice through her
 leadership in the statewide evaluation of Partnered Pharmacist Medication
 Prescribing (PPMP).
- The 2024 AdPha Technician of the Year is Rhys Wright (SA/NT) who as the Project
 Office and Pharmacy Technician Lead for the SA Pharmacy Statewide Cancer
 Services Program, has played a pivotal role in enhancing cancer medication
 supply and improving patient safety.
- The 2024 AdPha Hospital Team Innovation of the Year is Remote Clinical Pharmacy Service (ACT) led by Monica Rayson, which has demonstrated innovation and collaboration by addressing workforce shortages through the recruitment of remote pharmacists.

The MM2024 Conference Award winners are:

- Best overall oral presentation: Emma Whitney (ACT)
- Best first-time oral presentation: Sarah Risdale (Qld)
- Best original research oral presentation: Kate Ziser (Qld)
- Best case report oral presentation: Ngoc Hoan Dang (Vic.)
- Best pharmacy practice oral presentation: Sarah Linton (Vic.)
- Best technician oral presentation: Lara Tully (NSW)
- Best student or intern oral presentation: Suwasthigan Suganthan (NSW)
- Best overall poster: Jeffrey Wang (NSW)
- Best original research poster: Jessica Rogers (Vic.)
- Best case report poster: Khanh Thu Truong (Vic.)
- Best pharmacy practice poster: Cara Kolopelnyk (SA)
- Best technician poster: Mardi Simmons (Vic.)
- Best student or intern poster: Deanna O'Kelly (ACT)
- People's choice poster: Annie Sharp (Vic.)



enasenas

For more information, contact:

Caroline Barlow

Media & Stakeholder Relations | cbarlow@adpha.au | 0436 009 138

About Advanced Pharmacy Australia:

Formerly trading as the Society of Hospital Pharmacists of Australia, or SHPA, Advanced Pharmacy Australia (AdPha) is the progressive voice of Australian pharmacists and technicians, built on 80 years of hospital innovation that puts people and patients first. AdPha supports all practitioners across hospitals, transitions of care, aged care and general practice to realise their full potential. We are the peak body committed to forging stronger connections in health care by extending advanced pharmacy expertise from hospitals to everywhere medicines are needed.

adpha.au

